You knew I had to write about it

Everyone that reads my blogs knows that I would not be able to stay away from a subject that is so near and dear to my heart: Autism Spectrum Disorder.

That is right, it is Autism awareness month! Some people are going to light up blue (for Autism speaks) and others are lighting up red for autism acceptance; the acceptance piece would be because there is no known cure. The differences that I see between the two camps are based on moral obligations and how they perceive one group over the other. So, do your homework if you plan on doing anything.

What can you do to help spread awareness? Do not be ashamed of your, your cousin’s, your child’s, your siblings, your anyone’s Autism. Autism does not make or break a person, it simply means that the person with Autism views the world in a whole different mind frame.

Let me provide an example of this. As a family, my husband myself and our two sons were sitting down to a game nigh playing a game called “Kids on Stage,”. My oldest son, I believe, is meant to be on stage. He is naturally funny, and not afraid of being awkward. Basically, you pick a card from the deck that your piece landed on; you can either be an action, an animal, or an object. You have to come up with a creative way of describing what you are. For adults, it seems a bit trivial at first because we know how to convey to someone that we are eating an apple. My oldest son drew a card and started laughing at the thought of how he was going to perform this one for us. He ended up in yoga pose at first, commonly known as the pretzel, and then went all the way onto his shoulders for a shoulder stand while still in the pretzel. For those of you out there that are not yogis, this is a very difficult pose as it cuts off the lung capacity that you have, it is not something that I would suggest to a novice. Then, he stuck two fingers up above his toosh (also, very difficult). My husband and myself sat there dumbfounded, we had no idea what he was trying to be. I mean we tried just spurting out words to see if they would be the right one. My youngest son looked at us like we were crazy, “he’s an apple” he stated like it was the easiest algorithm that Einstein had figured out.

It was an awe-inspiring moment…like how had we been so blind not to be able to see what Erick was trying to do, and yet Liam was so able to get entuned with his brother that he understood exactly what he was doing. The intricacies that have to be happening in that mind, that beautiful mind, that lead him to that conclusion. The neurotransmitters shooting off at the blink of an eye to provide the correct answer shooting in through the frontal lobe through the optical observations followed by the electric current to run from his mind to his mouth in that split second…just amazing.

I am a mother. I am a mother to two beautiful sons, one is an actor the other is his interpreter.

Thank you as always to Jenn Bovee at Inspiring Enterprises LLC.

Light up the Darkness,

TheLotus

Leave a Reply

