Your illness is valid

I have been asked numerous times to stop writing, and the intentions are good. I must address it though; this blog has been an outlet and safe place for other (and myself) for self-expression and realization. I continue to write because mental illness still has a stigma, and even though celebrities are bringing awareness to the topic I still have a challenging time finding the regular person talking about it (outside of combat PTSD).

The truth of the matter is that I enjoy writing, like genuinely enjoy it. It releases all the dark shadows from my psyche, and then I do not ruminate. I have heard many requests to stop writing because it is not healthy; when has expressing yourself ever been unhealthy?

I believe that the words are filled with good intensions, but you know what the path to hell is paved in. I keep talking about mental illness because repetition is the only way to get really good at something. Maybe, one day, my writings might change someone’s perception on a mentally ill person.

I am a wife, mother, full-time career worker, and part time college student. I am quite normal, and live is middle class suburbia filled with children and a playground. The only time that people see the depression or trauma lurking is when I am with my service dog, or during an attack. So, they may not see it all the time and dismiss it easily. There is even a book and several articles that say that mental illness is a choice.

It is not a choice. You are acknowledged, and validated.

Thank you to Jenn Bovee.

Light up the Darkness,

TheLotus

